Don't Stand in my Light

By JacquiJay

Bad Day at the Nature Reserve

Life can be cruel sometimes and for no good reason that I can see.

On a lovely, sunny day we sat in a hide at Rutland Water watching two oystercatchers look after their only chick. I was just about to line up the camera for a shot of the little family when a black-headed gull swooped down and tried to snatch the chick! The oystercatchers tried to fight it off, but didn't succeed and, after about three swoops, the gull flew off with the chick. I hope you can see the chick to the left of the parent bird. This is the only shot I got, as I was willing the mum and dad to save their chick and forgot to keep clicking.

Mum and Dad were bereft and kept circling and calling, but the chick was gone forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.