Scintilla

By scintilla

Dreadful Anniversary

I by no means obsessed about it, but I did today and probably forever will reflect each anniversary of September 11 on the horrific day that truly stratified the world and even our own country with respect to our sense of security, freedom, and righteousness. Even though terror events had happened before and were disastrous in their own right, 9-11 proved to us and to our enemies that imagination, patience, martyrdom, relatively little resources, and unadulterated evil can go a long way in inflicting deep wounds in our psyche and in our hearts. It set in motion an irreversible course of events that will have repercussions lasting far longer than my lifetime. Most of the time it is possible to go about one's business without much thought to the hazards around the world or around the block, but thanks to 9-11, there's a lingering recurrent sense of unease for me and likely for all of us. Some have had to live with it for a lot longer than homebody Americans, but it's a shame that such a feeling is now becoming ubiquitous. I don't mean to be a downer, but in this forum which is the closest thing to a diary/journal I've ever had, I have to acknowledge my sentiments regarding this day.

In memory of the terrorist victims who lost their life that fateful day in Manhattan, Arlington, and Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.