Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Distortion

Ever since the Connect Festival I've been trying to pick up some Jesus and Mary Chain bits and pieces. I've mainly been messing about with Cracking Up on the accoustic. Any Mary Chain fans will surely appreciate the fact that it just doesn't cut it on the accoustic so it was time to dig out the electric and get into some serious distortion.

I do have a fancy Multi-effects unit but for something like this it just needed a simple ballsy distortion pedal so I dug this out the cupboard and dusted it off. It's not the best distortion pedal in the world but it was free with a magazine subscription and does exactly what it says on the tin. It was perfect for the job in hand. Thankfully Roz is a huge Jesus and Mary Chain fan so I'm getting away with it in a way I never would playing Neil Young. I just hope the neighbours are as keen.

Unfortunately the rest of the day didn't go so well though. I found out today that the agency my work are now using for my services have a month's lie time for paying wages so, after not working much through the summer, I now won't be paid until the end of October which is an absolute nightmare. This is a fact they decided wasn't worth notifying me about and I only actually found out because I thought I'd better go and check. It feels like a huge kick in the teeth from the senior management at my work. I'd assume it's the same for all the line managers. I know mine is paying more a week for my services than he was last year but is getting less hours for his money, that despite the fact that I'm getting significantly less per hour for my time.

It seems to me like the staff, who are key to providing a good learning experience, are little more than numbers on balance sheets as far as senior management are concerned. To be honest right at this moment I'm thoroughly unhappy about the whole situation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.