The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lansdowne Monument

The Lansdowne Monument in Cherhill is about 5 miles away from my home, and is visible on the horizon from my kitchen window. I decided to venture up the path to Oldbury Castle, the bronze age hillfort on which it stands, noticing along the way how unfit I am, to see it at close quarters. I figured that since I could see it from my house, I ought to be able to see my house from the Monument.

It didn't quite work like that, as it was hard enough identifying the town of Calne, let alone any specific buildings, though it was quite a spectacular walk.

The stone monument is 125 ft high and was erected in 1845 by the Earl of Lansdowne at the most easterly point of his Bowood estate to commemorate his ancestor, Sir William Petty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.