BOOK ENDS

Quick shot of Kade today.

Very stressful couple of days for us.

Got home from Kade's sports day yesterday to find out my Mum was being taken into hospital that afternoon.

6 years ago she had a varicose ulcer on her ankle that she's never fully recovered from and the last week or so it has been infected and extremely painful again. The doctor had come out and gave her anti-biotics but they weren't working. Doctor came out again yesterday and wanted her into hospital for further investigation.

I was already on way to hospital to pick up crutches for myself (which they decided not to give me), so went and met my Mum when she was brought in.

At one point me and Mum were both hobbling up the corridor like a couple of book ends!! Had a good laugh at ourselves :)

3 Doctors later and they'd never seen anything like the mess my Mums ankle is in. They kept her in over night for tests (x-ray and ultrasound) and ruled out deep vein thrombosis/blood clot, but think the infection over the years from the ulcer has been eating away at the bone and that is what might be causing the infection.

Mum got out today but will have to go back in as a day patient in the next few weeks as she has to have a bone scan. In the mean time she's home and on different anti-biotics.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.