Christine's Photospace

By ceckel

Butterflies

I've been back in West Virginia for 24 hours now and my kitties have been smothering me with love. So sweet! I spent most of the day cleaning house, doing laundry, etc. Basically trying to catch up after being away for a week.

I went out to the Greenbrier State Forest almost too late in the day for a mountain bike ride. As it was, I was only able to ride for a measly half hour before it started to thunder and lightning and rain, rain, rain. Right now it is DUMPING outside.

However . . .

Lucky me to come upon this group of half a dozen butterflies in the short time I was out. i only had my little Cybershot with me, but at least I had a camera! It would be so cool to come upon a group of butterflies when carrying a digital SLR and macro lens. Alas! About a month ago I came upon a group of about 50 butterflies while riding at Douthat State Park. They all flew away right as I came upon them, which was disappointing because there was no chance I'd get to photograph them. That said, it was a magical experience just to sit there with them all flitting about around me.

One more thing I have found to love about West Virginia: butterflies by the dozen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.