Jeff Greene's Daily Photo

By JeffGreene

Fore!

Another image for my Creative Lighting with Speedlites Workshop tour.

Next stop - Minneapolis on June 13th...

Here I'm illustrating how to accomplish in-camera multiple exposures of moving objects by setting the flash to "Multi" mode. This method works best with light objects against a dark background due to the lengthy shutter speed.

Details:
- Canon EOS 7D DSLR
- Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
- Canon Speedlite 580 EX ll

Speedlite Settings: "Multi" mode / 1/128th power / 40Hz
Exposure: 1 sec @ f/11 ISO 100 with 2 second timer

First I set up a black tabletop and backdrop to absorb ambient light.
Then I aimed the golf ball to bounce within the camera's field of view. I used the 2 second timer to help get the timing right and, after a few practice drops, I was getting a fairly large number of usable images.

I'd like to see some higher bounce so I may try ping-pong balls tomorrow...

Note: Don't bounce golf balls on the nice kitchen table. The dimples may will ding the wood. Not an admission of guilt... ...I'm just sayin'...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.