nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Found time

I'm sure everyone is familiar with the concept of "found money". That's the money in the pocket of a jacket you've not worn for a while, the money you didn't know you had so you've not missed it. The rules around "found money" are quite complex and I'd only embarrass myself by showing that my knowledge is sketchy if I tried to detail them fully here but I know a few of them. Firstly; "found money" is your money rather than "oh we'll share it" money. Of course "found money" can be given to someone else because it's your money to give but it's not for someone else to ask. "Found money" mustn't, under any circumstances, be spent on anything serious. Don't buy petrol with "found money", buy flowers. Don't buy potatoes, buy steak. Buy theatre tickets rather than using it to pay the TV licence. Any food or drink purchased with "found money" has no calories.

Today I didn't have any "found money" but I had some "found time". I was halfway to a meeting when I got a call cancelling it. I'm at home this week as I've taken some time off to mark exam scripts and revise for an exam of my own next week. Thus I didn't have to go back to the office or generally account for my time in any way. In my previous house "found time" during the day would generally be invested in the local pub as it was only a short stroll along the road but that's not an option here and, anyway, I had other delights to enjoy. With my two and a half hours "found time" today I've watched the latest Dr Who on iPlayer and I've read some of Boyd's "Any human heart" and I've played about a bit with this photograph. It's a shot of the door to the old outside toilet, The toilet is long gone and I use this as a reasonably dry place to keep a garden brush and rake and oil for the car so it doesn't matter that it's a bit ramshackle and it's less so than it appears in this shot.

Long blip today to celebrate losing my L-plates :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.