random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Too Tings

1. No merit - cept I like it
2. When last orders was called tonight (we are closing would you like anything else) the call was for Dal, Rice and Roti. OK so we had already had more than a few beers - the bill was apparently about 150 pounds for 20 odd guys to celebrate a cricket win - but the emphasis was on supplementing the snacks we'd been eating all night and not topping up on beer.

I wanted to help the celebration so earllier on I went to the bar to ask about sparkling wine. They appeared ignorant about it. Eventually they twigged - you want champagne - yes I agreed hesitantly, having seen supermarket differences in price between indian and european wine. But it was ok - they meant local. So I got it in and the team were ecstatic. I took the cage off the first to explain how to launch the cork, expecting to hand over to the captain and it fired without any prompting, so I filled a few glasses and pushed the second bottle into the hands of the cap - my good pal and go to man Rahul. It wouldn't pop - even though the guys were telling him to shake it like a jenson. Eventually all honour was even and more photos were taken. I don't think any had ever tasted it before, I did hear the dryboys being told " its only grape juice". Actually it was only that. Not so impressive but I know the guys will remember that for a while.

So will I.

Splendid celebration of a great cricket victory.

Some of the guys are off to Geneva tomorrow. I've promised I will get over and visit before they finish in Oct. I need to make good on that. The hospitality here is unmatchable when you consider that everyone here knows that I am rich, rich , rich as a westerner.

Last point - The company sees 1.6Bn in the world without electricity as a green issue. I agree it is, but for exactly the opposite reason to them. 1.6Bn users of electricity is one hell of a carbon bill. The more of us that can live without leccie the better for all - but then I have misused the word us - did I mean them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.