Herb Robert

This was what I bought my camera for! No, not Fractalius, I'd never heard of that last June! I wanted to get close up to small wild flowers. This is a weed I don't mind having in the garden, its flower is about 1cm across. A tiny member of the geranium family.

I was so pleased to get out in the garden tonight with the camera, truly calming after the storm of the afternoon. We had one of those flash floods when the drains fill up and road and pavement become river. Unfortunately for me, that means my cellar may flood. And it did! Water spilled in through fissures and forced its way past the plug in the cellar drain. I could only watch as it rose to about 80cm, hoping all electrical items were raised.

I used to use the cellar for silversmithing until it flooded 8 years ago. My last commission was a set of 9ct mabe pearl miniature cabinet handles. That flood water was shoulder high. I've never felt the same about working down there since!

Tomorrow the dank smell of drains will greet me! Ah, well, there will be some great blips to look at tomorrow evening and I will put it out of my mind! Must work now!

Susan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.