surely you can see

By petergarver

september's theme: close to you, explained.

Typical workplace blip - walk out of the shop and keep going until I find something interesting I haven't taken a picture of yet. So far I'm up to about 80 meters away, which has taken me four months. It should hold me for a while. Once I get too far away, I can just come back, and I'll be better, so it will be interesting again, right?

One thing I actually like about this image is that I matched a dark-toned foreground subject that was sunlit with a light-toned background (the gravel out of focus on the left) that was shade-lit. The sunlight/shade color balance adds deliciously. I was thinking of the "light and shadow" assignment when I shot this.

So that aside, on to youtube. Today we have a scene from a movie called "mirrormask", which I've never even heard of. It has a certain charm, I guess, but try watching it without the sound on (maybe listen to a cover of Toxic instead) - it's kinda weird then.

So I guess now I have three themes for September? Well, whatever it takes to keep me shooting. And if you didn't notice the third theme, hey, pay attention - it's in the air / and it's all around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.