Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Still missed...

I was standing on the platform at Newcastle train station when I read the newspaper notice announcing that John Smith had died. I remember just going into shock, tears pouring down my face...

For those of you too young to remember or from outwith the UK, John Smith was the leader of the Labour Party in the UK who died suddenly n May 1994. He was widely respected as an advocate for the principles and practices of democracy and social justice.

As the website of the John Smith Memorial Trust, created to commemorate his ideals by spreading understanding of how to put them into practice, so eloquently puts it: "He achieved such success in the two short years of his leadership that it was widely expected that he would be the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom in the event of there being a change of government after the next General Election. Tragically, he died suddenly in May 1994 at the very moment that the British public had come to realise that John Smith was a person in whom they could confidently place their future."

Totally. I was one of them. As an idealistic young firebrand, full of hope and passion that we can all make a difference, I put my trust in him as the leader to make it happen.

Tonight, albeit older and wiser, but no less passionate I hope, I attended as a guest a reception and dinner for the Trust at the Scottish Parliament. Each year it brings young leaders from the emerging democracies of the former USSR to Scotland and then Westminster for a programme of lectures, training and placements with public bodies and charities. It's fantastic to talk to young people from places like Georgia, Armenia, Russia, the Ukraine, Moldova etc about their aspirations for their country and how they want to learn from Scotland. I think we probably learn more from them during their time here!

It was a wonderful evening to kick of the programme for 2010, and I'm so glad to see such a brilliant programme carrying on the vision of John Smith. but as i came home tonight, I revisited my lost hope all over again, and did feel sad. It could all have been so, so different...


You can find out more about the Trust and the Fellows
here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.