Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

100 Blips

Best viewed in LARGE!

Didn't really know where this would lead 100 days ago. My first thought when I saw that my mate rancidand was blipping was that I didn't think his life was that interesting and mine certainly wasn't, but somehow I still found myself signing up.

The concept of "Who am I to disagree?" was that I would post my opinions, however this has not been the way it's developed, in fact you could say it's "degenerated" into just a journal, but that would be cruel - in hindsight my journal should simply be called my blip id, longshanks.

What I've found is my interest in photography has been reignited and the purchase of the 550D has opened up far more control over my photos, but I still struggle to be "creative" as opposed to just recording reality - given that my background is in computer analysis that's not surprising - my logical genes far outweigh my creative genes.

At times it's also been a struggle to find the subject matter. It's okay on these "islands" of trips away, but the majority of my time is spent around the house and in our small village. The bird, plant & insect life in my garden is starting to complain about their lack of privacy but looking back on the last hundred days there's not an entry I'd consider "weak". It seems my life is in fact more interesting than I'd initially thought, or is it simply that I've learned the skill of making the uninteresting interesting, or maybe I'm just being delusional. Whatever the rationale is, I'm thoroughly looking forward to seeing what the next hundred days may produce.

Of course the other great unknown as you set out on your blip life is the "community" and that's probably the biggest surprise - not just the friendliness, generally groups with shared interests tend to be friendly, but it's the sheer diversity of those whose lives we dip into all over the world. So thanks to those who've taken time to read any of my first hundred ramblings and thanks to everyone for posting and sharing their ramblings and making this community what it is - thoroughly enjoyable.

For the record the montage itself is obviously my 100th blip, but the 100th thumbnail is a Hibs 100 Club badge from 1990/92 when fans donated £100 and had their name added to a board which is currently on display in the Famous Five stand - it is NOT a badge issued in 2002 by those who support that wee Lithuanian team.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.