Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

The afternoon is on the horizon.

Cycled down to Big Sand beach today to go for a walk. These guys were the only people on the beach when I first got down. The water was crystal clear and still, only making a noise when the tiny waves collapsed onto the sand and drew back. I walked to the river at the end of the beach whilst listening to the Fleet Foxes. I saw some brown trout in the deeper part of the river and regretted not bringing my rod. But having watched them chase each other frantically for a while, I decided that they looked too happy to pull out of the water.

On the way back down the beach it was obvious that the weather was changing. Dark clouds moved across from the Torridons. Newbies onto the beach, clad with sunnies and sandals had arrived too late and looked merely out of place. And they new it. But they were British, so they threw their towel down onto the sand in defiance anyway. "I came to sunbathe, so I'll sunbathe". True British 'picnic in the rain' mentality. Gotta love a bit of cloud-bathing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.