Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Deep Channels Meeting

This afternoon around 5 p.m. I went with my friend Susan to walk her two Miniature Schnauzers in Kelley Point Park, which is where the city's two rivers, the Willamette and the Columbia, meet. Susan often walks her dogs there, I'd been there myself once, and we both knew this structure was new. I've been getting acupuncture treatments every Friday for the last month or so, and thinking I was making a joke, I said, "That looks like an enormous acupuncture needle."

We walked around it and looked at it for a while (that's Susan looking up at it in the picture), and then we noticed a sign nearby, and it turns out it's supposed to look like an acupuncture needle.

There's an art/culture project going on, called Portland Acupuncture Project which "explores the interface between art, regional planning, traditional Chinese medicine and the health of a city." There are gigantic acupuncture needles at critical spots all around town, but Susan and I hadn't heard anything about this till now. We were just in time, too. I came home and found the website and learned that the needle will be taken down June 10th. So hooray for us! We got there, we saw it, and I got my Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.