about which to think

Every now and then a coincidence happens and because they're sometimes slightly spooky they tend to be remembered so it seems that they happen more often than not. Apart from the odd thing such as a flatmate in Edinburgh (who came from Cheshire) briefly going out with a girl who was in the year below me at school (in Horncastle in Lincolnshire) after they met in London or my english and form teacher at secondary school (Horncastle again) living two houses away from the birthplace of my paternal grandfather (who was living in Northampton when my dad was born) I don't have that many and both of those are easily explained by the relative smallness of the country. Slightly different was the time when I was on a school trip to France and bumped into my next-door neighbours round the back of a crazy golf course. Although France is in no way a small country the Tricolore textbook used by our school did plug La Rochelle fairly heavily. About once a week I'll ring Nicky after work just as she's taken her phone out of her bag to ring me but as we often phone each other when we've finished work it's not a particularly spooky occurrence. Sometimes it'll occur to me to download a particular song from the distantish past which I haven't heard in a while and then I'll hear it later within a few days in a shop or on a passing wireless. There are plenty of songs I don't think of but do hear and which I think of but then don't hear (unless I actually get round to downloading them or fishing them out if they're on an already-owned recording). Only spooky because you remember the ones which happen.

After work today I was pottering around waiting for Nicky to finish her day's work so that we could potter off to the Cameo to see Hallam Foe (*****) which at times (don't worry - no spoilers) features the occasional instance of things being seen through windows which the person seen through the window might not wish to be seen by the person or persons doing the seeing. As I was waiting to cross a road I was glancing about, happened to glance across the road, happened to look up at a first-floor window and just happened to catch th briefest of glimpses of the back of a lady changing her clothing. My camera stayed in my bag - I am both happily betrothèd and a gentleman - but it is little moments like that which make you smile. Slightly coincidental for it to happen on the same day as going to see the film but maybe whilst thinking about the film I was unconsciously glancing around at windows slightly more than usual. I might have droned on about little-moments-which-make-the-day-worthwhile before but they're out there and I am glad of them and I hope that other people see them too.

I managed to get out for my walk at lunchtime and found the nice leaf on the nice mossy wall along the side of the river. Every year the tree has to shed the leaves but the tree still grows. A vague analogy at best but it stuck in my mind to see it today.

Have good weekends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.