Plus ça change...

By SooB

Changing

Things have changed in the back yard. I hung a bird feeder from the wall in the winter, and after a period of adjustment, it saw lots of visitors. Throughout February and March lots of sparrows would visit and one (this one, I speculate) exhibited slightly odd behaviour. He seemed to be a very messy eater, scattering more seed on the ground than he could ever have eaten. Seed that was devoured by a wood pigeon (this one, I speculate).

However, this afternoon I spent a good while watching the sparrow feeding a fledgling on top of the wall, ducking down to get seed, then back up to feed the teenager. And then later this stand off. I think the wood pigeon has been ditched by his friend as soon as the kids came along. Happens.

Aside from a little bird fiction, I had another busy day organising stuff for my boss husband. This time van hire to get rid of some of our junk. All the local van places are booked out, so I found a national company that, for just £20 more than our usual van hire fee, will deliver the van to our door and collect. Hmmm. Mr B sounded very sceptical when I relayed details of this deal to him and, for once, I'm as pessimistic as him. Still, the other option is hauling 20 pieces of 1960s steel scaffold (don't ask) to the tip on the back of my bike. So let's hope it arrives.

Also making treats for a leaving party in my daughter's class tomorrow. How is it that the tiny amount of chocolate crispy mix in the bowl always seems to make about 4 times the number of crispy cakes you were expecting? But today, spookily, we had exactly the right number of smarties for the cakes made. So that's a start on Mr B's birthday tea too. Any ideas for a cake design for him?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.