Just looking..

By ccleeve

Zorgy Park fountain.

This must be one of the strangest Soviet relics left in Baku (at least I assume it's Soviet). It's a pond with central concrete island (and concrete starfish and lizard) covered in mosaic tiles. I think it might have been for children to paddle in - there are access points, but I've not seen it used by children. I once saw a terrapin in the water and today pigeons were drinking from it. Zorgy Park is split into three by the roads that cross it - the two 'ends' have been done up - one end has the eyes statue that I blipped earlier, the other has a mini theme park with tiny rollercoaster. This middle section is still charmingly run down with open air table-tennis and pool tables, a cafe where men drink tea, and some children's fairground rides.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.