Forked

Despite the heat, that's back with full force now, I decided to ride to office. For a while I had a couple of trucks trailing right behind me. It must have been five minutes or so and I held my pace though I had a strange feeling about it. Finally when they decided to overtake, they left behind a blurry stream of sand like dry sharp rain. I was covered in it, breathed some in too. Not the best way to enter office I'm sure but I wasn't irritated. Though lately, much less has irritated me.

Today my good friend got some great news, one he had been so dearly waiting for, but had almost given up all expectation. This will take him away from here but I hope it brings him the happiness he has dreamt about. That will give me much needed hope.

Had an unexpected visitor at work today, whom I would not have wanted to meet. But confrontations are useful as was the case today. Also, a lot of work got done before I raced back home for football.

"Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

~Bill Shankly


Even miles away, as I sat alone in front of a noisy television screen, I had a brief glimpse of what Bill Shankly might have meant. There is undeniably a larger than life quality to the World cup. As I type this, the match goes on. It is the 50th minute. I want to type quickly, but every second my head turns up to look at the TV.

There is something about underdogs that make us want to support them. They have no reputation to defend and play with all their heart. South Africa are doing just that. A brilliant goal is scored as I type this! I pause and applaud. I hope they win tonight. It will be a triumph of the spirit, or perhaps for emotion, I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.