Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blowing in the wind

Kind of how I feel at the moment: blown around by events and not really in control. Ah well, it'll pass.

Sports Day was cancelled at school this morning, so me and Conor headed off to the shops instead to do some secret buying for birthdays and fathers' day. Then some present making and loafing in the afternoon once Katherine was home, a bit more (will it ever be filled?) work on the epic pillow, and some baking.

Our walk to the beach was interrupted by Mr B calling to say he'd missed his train, so we couldn't pick him up at Dunbar at 9.45pm. Too late for the kids to stay up to pick him up off the train he is getting, so I've called in our lovely babysitter who we've not seen for ages, and I'm off to my book group. The lovely Mr B has generously suggested he will get a cab home so I don't have to cry off the wine tonight and drive through all the mad drunk country drivers to come and get him at 11.30. Not that I can't get through a night without a drink, but on a Friday night, in a friend's (checks out of window) sunnyish garden, a glass of rose just feels right.

We're all very happy to see Mr B again - 2 weeks since the kids have seen him. Conor asked whether he'll have grown. 2 weeks of London food? I should think so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.