Photo a day for 2010

By kusasi

This time ...

... More than any other time, this time - we're going to find a way, find a way to get a way this time. Getting it all together - we're on our way. We are Ron's twenty-two. Hear the roar of the red, white and blue ...

The England football song from 1982. Probably the World Cup I remember most fondly, and the last time I genuinely thought we might win. I was ten years old. I had an excuse for my misplaced optimism.

Anyway - today these stars of 1982 adorn one of my favourite T-shirts, and is the photo of the day - taken moments before I wore it with pride for the day. Today was also "wear your football shirt to work day" in honour of the first day of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, and my pride was only slightly deflated by the first colleague to spot it saying he'd vaguely heard of Kevin Keegan but wasn't even born at the time. I suspect the pride will be deflated somewhat more over the next four weeks, but I really don't mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.