Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

New Fern On The Block

My wife had her mother's car today after taking her to the airport to attend a 60th-year class reunion in Arkansas. Of course, it meant I had my car back and I immediately thought I could go a little further afield than my photographic walks usually take me.

With the temperature reaching 94 degrees, it does not do to linger too long out of doors. I reckoned 30 minutes was my limit. So I set off in the general direction of Five Points, which is probably the liveliest part of Riverside. Indeed, it lived up to its reputation. I couldn't find an easy parking spot, so I headed back in the direction of my walking territory.

As you are all aware, today was the start of the World Cup Finals in South Africa. I watched the first half of the South Africa v Mexico game this morning but soon realized the entire day could evaporate with me just watching football. On paper, this afternoon's game between Uruguay and France was the better bet in terms of quality of football.

But Friday is house chores day and the game kicked off at 2:30. With this deadline in mind, combined with the scorching heat, I did not devote the usual amount of time to today's photographs. It was a case of grab something quick, get home, do the chores and then watch the football.

This fern growing out of a cement block wall at the parking lot of a fourplex on Cherry Street was the best offering.

I can see the raised eyebrows from here. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.