I Am A Camera

By photolau

365/26: Skip

I still haven't decided where I stand on photographing strangers. My favourite photographs are beautifully captured moments, a snapshot of an unknown life that's mysterious and intimate and totally unposed. So when I saw this adorable little girl skipping joyfully around the pillar at Canterbury train station I couldn't resist taking this shot, and because her face isn't showing I feel comfortable posting it online.

She didn't see me taking the photograph but a few minutes later when she looked around and saw that I had a camera she started posing for me, asking me to take her photo. I smiled back but didn't do it - partly because I couldn't see who she was with and didn't want my first encounter with her parents / guardians to be a shouty one and partly because the moment was gone.

I hope I captured it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.