The Laws

By thelaws

Fake Cake...

Lou has it seems fallen prey to the world of advertising. I make my own yoghurt - but she instead had one of her friends because "the pot looked really cool". So today I thought I'd bake a sponge cake. I also bought an equivalent sponge from the local Co-op. After a fab dinner I brought my sponge to the table - "Anyone have room?" I asked.... "Me" was the universal response!

The I brought the other cake out.

I gave everyone a slice of each and asked their opinions. A scary moment passed before mine was declared the best (phew!!).

We then looked at the box for its packaging and the list of ingredients - very scary...

Mine:
Butter
Sugar
Eggs (free range)
Vanilla Extract
Flour
Raspberry Jam - my mums homemade
Icing Sugar

Shop:
Wheat flour
Sugar
Egg - from caged hens
Butter
Icing Sugar
Glucose Syrup
Water
Raspberry Conserve (Glucose Syrup, Raspberries, Sugar, Water, Modified maize starch, Elcerberry concentrate, Pectin, Acidity Regulators, Flavouring, Preservative, Colour)
Vegetable oil
Humectant
Cornflower
Dried egg white - from caged hens
Emulsifiers
Invert sugar syrup
Modified maize starch
Preservative
Raising agents
Salt
Soya flour
Stabiliser
Wheat starch and finally
Whey powder.

Phew..... and if you got right to the bottom - well done you!

Lou was not impressed by the fact that the shop bought one would be okay to eat until 11th October.... Scary stuff indeed.

PS - If anyone really needs any help - Mine is on the Left!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.