The Southern Cross

Here is the Southern Cross, with the Pointers to show that it is not the False Cross. The Pointers are the two big stars, Alpha and Beta Centauri. I've been trying to get this shot for years, but I was needing a more powerful camera, and better skills, which I'm developing since I joined Blipfoto.

Astronomical events have long been a passion of mine and I have a number of photos from my SLR days. You might like to look at my Blipfolio, where I have posted scans of some of my favourites. There are the moon and planets, a couple of comets, and the spectacular Aurora Australis. All were taken from my garden.

Very early this morning was clear and frosty. This afternoon was clear and sunny. Between these two it snowed for several hours. However, because the air temperature was about 2 degrees C the snow didn't last. The hills are pretty.

I keep thinking of our Northern star, Nina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.