postcards from new york

By editrrix

circus amok

New York City's greatest resource is the unbridled current of creativity and community that surges through its every block. There is a collective soul on the island of Manhattan that has much less to do with success or wealth or fame than reaching out and taking care of each other. Perhaps we are isolationists who are forever consoling one another. Today's comfort was running into a street theatre performance in the form of a circus that touched upon political themes while still making its message entertaining for small children. This hour-long show with a live five-piece band was free and hundreds of families turned out for the performance, their lives made richer for sitting on the street with their neighbors.

It is with sadness that I have decided to take a break from the Blip community. I have had a great deal of fun and I wish you all well. Should I get my life back on track in the near future I shall resume.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.