just be

By justbe

Be's Brownie

I have to thank The Quiet Plodder for taking me down Memory Lane on this dark and rather dismal Monday. No sun, damp, a true mosquito paradise outside this morning, making me turn inward to childhood things for my blip.

Behold the Kodak Brownie 127, my first camera. It was one of my Christmas presents in 1955 along with my only brother, born a few weeks before. Tooth missing, first grade smile, the strap around my neck, I lift it for perhaps the first of many times. I used it until I got a Kodak Instamatic with that cube flash, moved on to SLRs by Ricoh and Olympus, countless digital Sonys and now trusty companions, the Nikon D90, little Leica D-Lux 4 and the iPhone's humble eye. My love of the captured moment has never waned and I thank blipfoto for my new eyes and the urge to keep my cameras even more at the ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.