Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

Might As Well

Sometmes things just happen too late. When deciding the title of the last Thursday's blip, Who Cares, I was thinking of taking a picture of a mask of some kind. And I thought, if only we had bought some mask from Venice last summer. Yet, a mould of my wife's face would've been perfect. Well. That's life.

So, meet my wife. Or a mould of her face. My mother-in-law is making some artistic clock containing plaster faces of four generations from Tiia to her great grandmother. But do not worry, instead of taking a mould from Tiia's face, she did use my wife's old doll which represents Tiia.

In the evening I drove to Naantali and helped her by printing & doing some fancy image manipulation to some pictures of the four generations. Hoping to be able to blip the final masterpiece. I know it's going to be special.

What else happened? The three of us went the first time for a walk Tiia in a carrying cloth. Probably you'll pics from that later, once we start blipping the life of our precious little princess.

And I started to read a book 'The Pragmatic Programmer' by Andy Hunt & David Thomas. They actually achieved something really important. They made me to really (and I mean really) appreciate my work. Not doing something valuable, like saving lives of other people, being a hiking guide, or being an excellent artist to bring joy to people, has made me to belittle my work. Andy and David said something in the preface of the book:

"Programming is a craft. [...] It's a difficult job."

Thanks guys! I needed that. Maybe tomorrow I might as well walk head's up to my office.

Also they said something I discussed earlier: "we're challenging you to think about what you're doing while you're doing it. [...] it's an ongoing critical appraisal of every decision you make, every day, and on every development." Thinking on what I said on my blip 'Stop Thinking', I could not agree more.

Thinking what's happened lately, I printed an A4 picture of yesterday's blip. I have to admit that I have never-ever taken such an artistic picture. Since A4 does not make her justice (yes, she's so beautiful that she's not 'it'), I'll have to go to a nearby frame store and order a huge print of her.

So, life is good. Enjoyable. And does bring pleasure. What else could one hope for?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.