Around the Block

By Barrioboy

The Future of Scotland

'Could you take a photo of us?', says the voice over my shoulder. I continue to stare through the lens at the shot I've lined up across the road; a shop called Heritage of Scotland on the Royal Mile selling cheap kilts, with a red Ferrari parked in front.
'Sure,' I say, without taking my eye from the viewfinder, 'get in front of the camera.'
Three torsos fill the frame and I zoom out to see their faces. The kids pose and gesture for 20 shots, and then the girl in white sits beside me and asks, 'What were you taking a photo of?'
'That shop and the car...', I say nodding across the road.
'Why?'
There it is, from nowhere, the need to articulate why I had stopped and sat on the pavement. 'Well...I think it's the juxaposition of the sign The Heritage of Scotland and the tacky kilts and Ferrari in front, that are anything but...' She considers this.
'And what are you going to do with it?'
'I'll post it on an internet site called Blipfoto tonight and people round the world will have a chance to say if they like it or not.'
'Cool', she said..,
'But maybe tonight, I'll post you and your friends..if that's ok?'
'Even cooler!'
And with that she's off to join the other two up the road, and something makes me think the future of Scotland is in safer hands than the care of its heritage.

PS Try large!

PPS Here's the shot across the road...link to Blipfolio

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.