Kirsty McGee Photojournal

By kirstymcgee

Gasworks Carnival

I have to admit it. I have had a visual crush on gastowers since I was a kid but before today have always whizzed past them in a car. Tonight, the bicycle ride from hell between Salford and Hulme provided a closer look at these amazing structures (swoon!) There's something so majestic about them but also the architecture they embody makes me think of old-fashioned circus rides and carnivals. I was torn between black and white and sepia and decided the b&w had more stark honesty about it. I wanted stark honesty for this shot...(assumes serious and artistic expression).

Earlier in the day I took a shot of an office block that just about summed up my (bad) mood. Will tweet it @hobopop just in case anyone's interested in what a bad mood in Salford looks like!

Isn't it lovely when the sun comes out?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.