Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

The shock of bad news, and comfort from a rose

Our Pierre De Ronsard (Eden) rose is rampaging happily all over our front garden. Years ago I found it, more dead than alive, in the bargain bin of a garden centre. I bought it on a whim. It looked so miserable that I didn't think it would survive, but it has, and it rewards us with spectacular shows of long-lasting double blooms that fill the garden with colour and scent from May to mid-November each year. Oh, and in case you were wondering, the Surrey County Council sign was given to me by a friend who 'liberated' it in her student days. Honest.


Today, nature once again reminded me not to lose hope when I think the sky has fallen.

Had a nasty shock this morning. My partner T, barely 3 months into his new job, was told by his boss that he was surplus to requirements, so they were letting him go. I was distressed to find out because his new job seemed to be going so well. I felt as if the rug had been pulled out from under us. How dare they! Why now? What are we going to do?

Truth is, I simply don't have any answers today. The sun is shining but the world suddenly feels like it has gone cold. It's natural to feel overwhelmed by fear and anger and self-pity when these things happen. It's important that I face today's feelings rather than deny them. It's even more crucial to remember that the situation will eventually change, that something will turn up, another door will open as this one closes, and my family and I will be okay. We've been through worse, and we'll get through this as well. I know that happiness lies not in my circumstances, but in what I make of them.

I'm going to hold on to that.


This much I know -- life is full of surprises, like our climbing rose.




Postscript, 17 June 2010

Thank you everyone, I feel less apprehensive already. I've also discovered that the Blip community is a true community in every sense of the word. You're all lovely.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.