The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Water Colour

Just in case my journal might have been getting a little predictable (pet cat/flower/wildlife/pet cat/section of wall/pet cat/stretch of water), I thought it was time to throw a curve-ball.

Although I'm not a huge fan of special effects, I am exploring all the functions on my new DSLR. I began some days ago with the HDR and will persevere with that when my new tripod turns up, but meanwhile I am having a go with the digital filters. Some of these can be set before taking the image and some can be applied afterwards. I took a picture of this flower in someone's front garden on the nearby Curzon Park estate, and applied the Water Colour filter to it when I got home.

I didn't end there, though, as that would have just been letting the camera have all the fun, and I wanted to get creative, so I also played around in FastStone with what the camera had done until it was something I could call my own. In the process I restored the flower to something resembling its original colour, but whilst changing everything else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.