Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Jackdaw

We have a lot of Jackdaws around the village, but despite their numbers they are still quite shy, always taking flight whenever you go near. They roost in many of the bigger trees locally.

I was therefore intrigued this afternoon when I found several birds on low branches in my back garden, they were making a tremendous fuss. On further investigation I found a bird on the ground with damage to it's wing, it eventually manage to get into a thick Lilac hedge. The other birds were still around later in the day so I guess the injured Jackdaw is still around somewhere.

My Blip is of one of the Jackdaws on a low branch of the Eucalyptus tree.

Incidentally I love the collective noun for a group of Jackdaws in these parts which is a "clattering." most appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.