Arrakis Native

By ArrakisNative

How I Fall For You

by The Tough And Lovely


Walk With Me

In a grassy meadow in September
I walk through some trees and around buildings
and I realize slowly that nature is holy, only
when we begin to believe
that nature is the result of genius design, with a concept of cause
and effect.
Its purpose may be to give rest to the soul and
solace to the mind, although
we can only hope this beauty isn't destroyed
any time soon, because of us. Because of
those politicians high on greed and drunk on power who are only
thoughts that drip quickly off my skin
as I sing, soaping in the shower.
Later, I can see the seasons change, I can smell
the leaves about to fall and I hope for snow.
In the dirt I begin to compose a new piece
with unwavering stick strokes and I know
A hundred unwritten poems
yet to be scribbled in bathroom stalls
or with chalk on some pavement walk. I shut my lids
and lips and pull the stick through more dust
breathing and blindfolded, I can still see
the truth in the morning fog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.