Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Of Summer, Wishes and Flaming June

Spring being a tough act to follow, God created June. ~Al Bernstein


On our walk today, I spotted this lovely little ladybug (ladybird in the UK) on a stinging nettle leaf. I fumbled for the pocket digital, sure she would fly away but she kindly waited for me like a highly trained artist's model.

"The name "ladybird" originated in the Middle Ages when the insects were known as the "beetle of Our Lady" . They were named after The Virgin Mary, who in early religious paintings was often shown wearing a red cloak. The spots of the seven spot ladybird were said to symbolise seven joys and seven sorrows. Common names in other European languages have the same association (the German name Marienkäfer translates to "Marybeetle" or ladybeetle). In the USA the name was Americanized to "ladybug". ~ Wikipedia

I can remember letting ladybugs walk on my arm and feeling like I had captured a magical moment special only to me, as if I had been chosen...

In America where I grew up we believed that if a ladybug landed on you, your wish would be granted. We used to catch them, cup them in our hands and quiety whisper our wish to them and then quickly open our hands so they would fly away back home to make our wish come true.

I would wish that I could recapture the innocence that let me believe a ladybug could make my wishes come true...

So now I have decided that when I see a ladybug/ladybird perhaps I can stop for just a moment and at least think about wishes coming true...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.