OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Orbs

I went over to Sanday today. A decent walk, but the sky was bright overcast...not that great for landscapes. So I'm going with that old stand-by; fishing floats.

I got the (free!!) bus to Ortie, which is a sort of deserted village, though I found that the end house was occupied (so I couldn't poke around in it) and there was a huge caravan there too, which sort of took away the romantic abandonment ambience. I walked past the mound of Helliehow, supposedly the residence of a hogboon, a sort of hobgoblin, around Whitemill Point, Ebb of the Riv, Hucklinsower, Taing of Westove and Roos Wick to the Holms of Ire, which were just being cut off by the tide. After the Ness of Brough I tried to ring the bus man to come and get me, but was in a dead spot for the phone. Slight panic and haste to reach the main road and managed to meet him and get back to the pier in time for the ferry to Kirkwall.
More pictures here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.