Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

beauty behind the scenes

Meet my newest best friend, my new sunglasses.

It's only two weeks since I lost one of my sunglasses (the one's I mostly use). Deciding not to spend months whining for not having sunglasses, I took the first possible opportunity and went to a local sports store and ordered these. The only reason it took two weeks to finally get these was that these had to be delivered from UK.

Yesterday I read an interesting blog on multitasking and how it actually causes us stress and makes us achieve less. The reasoning was, more or less, that our brains are doing a lot more than what we think they are doing. So there's a lot of behind-the-scenes processing which we are not aware of.

So, for example me sending an email while being on a teleconference is a bad idea. It's better for me not to explain the reasoning - it's better to read the article.

I do agree with the post that doing one task at a time might be a rather good idea. At least worth a try.

Effectively, that would mean something like the pomodoro technique. Should I then by myself a fancy kitchen timer? Or use some other means to track what I'm doing. The book, by the way, is rather interesting and well worth a read.

So, this morning, after a rather easy spinning exercise, I decided not to concentrate on a few tasks I had postponed 'until I have few spare minutes'. So, I did order second pair of custom made insoles and I even bought a Vimeo plus for Turku Agile Day conference to publish the videos of our conference. Doing stuff that I had postponed made me feel like I accomplished something. Wow!

This feeling of getting things done made me to think that, for the next week, I shall try to stop multitask and rather I shall concentrate on one task at a time. I will report here in Blipfoto how I am proceeding .

Waiting anxiously for the week to come. So, if you don't catch me with your cellphone, don't be upset - I might be just playing with my little princess!

UPDATE: The eye beneath the lens belongs to my little princess. You can see the original picture in Flickr
UPDATE2: Heard today that I am really valued professionally. You bet that that makes one happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.