Ingunn in Oslo

By IngunnInOslo

THE CONTROVERSIAL SCULPTURE BY OLA ENSTAD

This is my favorite rose!

The "Fist and Rose" is the most meaningful sculpture I know, and I admire it every day on my stroll to my work. Here I have made the background black.

I have always regarded it as political, but can you imagine that the sculpture in itself became a political issue.

Let me fill you in. The city of Asker (just outside of Oslo) hired the artist Ola Enstad to make a sculpture. When they saw the cast, they decided it was too political and broke the contract. Ola said: "Hey you! My intent is purely artistic!" But Asker would not have it, and told him that they would pay him, but not have the sculpture. There were public meetings, and the artists told that if Asker didn't accept the sculpture, they would boycott Asker. Lawyers were sharpening their pens.

The solution came when the Trade Union for Metalworkers was 100 years and wanted to buy the sculpture. The Oslo City Council agreed and said: "The sculpture is very well done, and will enhance the site and give it a significant character". So from 1990 the "Fist and Rose" rest on Lilletorvet in Oslo. It is 4,8 meter high, the arm is made of bronze and the rose of steal. The arm is breaking its way up from the ground and separating the cobbles.

It reminds me of the power in united people fighting for justice in non-violence way.
I love it! Power to the people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.