Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Canna Lily

This exotic looking flower in my backyard has finally been identified thanks to presenttense.

"Ah," you say, "but how did you manage to capture a daylight shot if the squirrels keep eating the blooms?"

The squirrels may be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, and up early in the morning but there is no substitue for age and experience, unless like me you are trying to resurrect your career in today's job market.

Yesterday, the buds that looked about to burst eventually opened up after the sun had gone down. It was while smoking an after-midnight cigarette that I came up with a plan to beat the squirrels and so preserve the flower for the daylight hours. I simply covered it with a plastic bag from the grocery store.

Brilliant, eh?

I shall now be on standby all weekend for a phone call from the Oval Office with regard to solving the pollution disaster on the Gulf Coast. I just hope the call comes after the World Cup games have finished. I would hate to miss a game as exciting as the USA v Slovenia game. The USA wuz robbed!

On the other hand, if any game is as turgid as England's performance this afternoon against Algeria, I hope the telephone never stops ringing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.