Nor'wester

We were treated with a warm nor'wester today. The mountains have lost a lot of snow, but they still look magnificent under their ever-changing canopy of cloud. The spill-over brought light spits, creating a shaft of rainbow that strolled leisurely along the tops of the nearby hills.

I was able to take off a couple of layers of clothing, which made me feel light and free. And I noticed that the waxeyes are long and sleek when they are not puffed up against the cold.

It was a good day to trim the lawns, and to pick up the free kindling that falls out of the firs and cabbage trees. The stand-by wood on the verandah is now to my liking- enough to last two or three weeks.

I'm rather worn out, but feeling very satisfied. It is 5pm and I haven't yet lit the fire or closed up the house. We don't get many days like this in winter.

I took this shot from my back lawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.