* p h o n e d i n *

By PhonedIn

Buzz

This little guy gave me a fright today.

I had just left home to begin my 35 minute journey across town on my way to Leith when he started flying around the window beside me. Once I had got over the initial fright I tried not to be distracted while he walked all over the window. He settled on the join between the window and the window sill and stayed there for the next 30 minutes until I arrived at my destination.

Various thoughts ran through my head during this time, eg:

o. Did he know I was going to Leith and just needed a lift? Bees already defy the laws of physics with their flight so I pondered that they might have their own taxi strategies to save on energy.

o. Was he stalking me with intent to sting when I emerged from the car? He was definitely facing towards me and perhaps if I could have seen his eyes, I'd have seen the cold stare of a killer.

o. Did he mind me trying to photograph him at every set of lights?

It was all a bit distracting. I'm pretty scared of buzzy things in general and having one in such close proximity was unsettling.

Minutes ticked by and i became aware that he hadn't moved since settling on my sill. Suddenly my fear turned to concern for his welfare. I worried that the poor little thing was dying (or was already dead). I experienced genuine sadness that he may have expired on my car. Terribly poignant it was.

When I did arrive at my destination, I tapped on the window around him to see if he exhibited any signs of life. A small movement at the front was apparent so I went in for my coffee relieved that CPR wasn't yet required.

I returned an hour later to find him gone. Looks like he was just after that lift after all...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.