Water

There is just something about it, isn't there? I would be in it, swimming 24 hours a day if it weren't for wrinkly skin and the hot sun beating down. Salt, fresh, it doesn't matter. No overly chlorinated swimming pools though.

The dozens of city lakes around here are very swimmable, if you don't mind sharing them with handfuls of loud people you don't know on a glorious day like today.

I'm looking forward to visiting a very specific body of fresh water, hopefully later this summer. It's big, it's cold, it's clean and on any given day there are enough gentle waves lapping ashore to lull you to sleep about two sentences into a good book.

For now I'll just sit by the water feature and pretend while I speed read book two of that dreadfully boring adolescent vampire drama. I think Monday is the day I give all the books back with a tactful 'not my cup of tea'.

cool and squiggly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.