Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Gairloch High - lucky again!

Another lucky day for the school, and for music - we had the pleasure of a workshop today from the 3 girls who make up the Anna Massie Band. Between them, the girls play fiddle, guitar, accordion, bagpipes, and also sing beautifully. They play with such a delicate and understated touch, that it surpassed some of the note-bashing that passes as traditional music these days.

Anyway, over 30 kids took part today, and all had a ball. We ended the day with a performance in front of the whole school (and the inspectors!). A good day, indeed. And, There is another event coming up in 2 weeks time when Hugh Burns comes to the school to do a workshop with the senior guitarists. As you will see from the link, Hugh played the guitar on the original Bond movies, and has just re-recorded the movie soundtracks. Apart from that he is also a magic player, and a brilliant teacher.

I have to acknowledge that I am lucky with my Head Teacher, John, who always supports (and pays for!) these events.

Tonight, I took my friend Jenny to see the Anna Massie Band play at Poolewe, and we were again blown away by the sheer mastery of the art by these girls (I hesitate to call them 'women' - they are only 23!!)

So, I missed phoning Liz (fiancèe of Jim - Happy Again) to wish her a happy birthday!

Sorry, Liz - I know that you will have had a wonderful night despite my lack of a phone call from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.