kempa

By kempa

Life tastes better through a fisheye.

Happy Fathers Day!

Today started off with a breakfast that consisted of eggs on rolls from this bakery. We go there often and prices there are quite expensive. Their frosting on their cakes is the best you will ever taste and their rolls make life worth living. (Yes, I love food.) If your receipts add up to $100, you get a free strawberry shortcake! Anyway, I think they should maybe update it a little, the sign still says it's "new" and I started realizing the irony at a very young age.

Then I just hung around the rest of the day, listening to my parents argue about what car they are willing to buy for my sister until it was time to go to Gisela and Walter's (Oma and Opa's, Grandma's and Grandpa's). I've started calling them by their first names. Kind of inspired by Scout calling her father Atticus in To Kill a Mockingbird. So, their friends Hansi and Alice are in town. Every time they are in town, I just happen to get sick. Well I'm always sick so maybe it's not that much of a coincidence. However, this time I wasn't ill, although I did injure myself while stalking a swan. So we had a traditional german meal and played "Mensch ärgere dich nicht" (Man, Don't be angry) which is a german version of trouble and I lost. After all that, Alice told me a very strange story of a man who all of the elders knew that had recently killed himself.

This entry is especially long and I don't care if anyone reads it. As long as I look back and laugh at this story.

So ladies and gentlemen, (or Kristin,) I give you the story of Claus and Annette:
Claus was 25 years old and germafobic. He covered his mouth with a handkerchief so that he would breathe in all of the germs in the air. Alice met him along with my grandfather and her husband back in 1954. She had just married Hansi. Well one day Claus announces that he has met a woman. He is in love. He brings the group over to this huge, beautiful house. And then they saw Annette, she was about twenty years their senior. They all were shocked that this older motherly woman was his boyfriend and he later told them that they were to be married. He said I love this woman and I can't imagine life with anyone else. So, they got married. About five years later when Alice was pregnant with her first child she visited Annette and Claus' home. Alice was not rich at all and was concerned about not being able to take care of the child with limited funds. Annette brought Alice up to this room. She opens the door and there is this beautiful, extravagant nursery a mother would dream about. Alice was in shock because Annette was way beyond her child bearing years. Then Annette says, "Daddy and I are planning to have a child.".... This is the part of the story where I became rather nauseous. Alice told me that Annette and Claus called each other Mommy and Daddy. That's just weird and she was 20 years older than him... Anyway, Annette was so rich and was able to build this beautiful extravagant nursery, for a child she could never have. Alice discovered that all Annette wanted was a child and perhaps that's why she married a man twenty years younger than her and he called her mommy. Alice would have loved to have had a nursery like that for her child but she could only afford a crib. Annette's nursery was just an empty dream. So, Annette babied Claus all his life until she became ill and died at age 80. After she died Claus traveled the world, handkerchief at hand with a new mom. Then he became ill, got sick of it and shot himself.

Oh, and I'm cit-ing this summer. (again -____-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.