Gifts of Grace

By grace

Seal

I think of this seal as a bit of a silly sausage.

Whenever the weather is fine and the tide is just right he (?) perches on this rock about a quarter of a mile out from shore. The only way he can keep his balance as the tide rises is by taking on an increasingly sharp u-shape. He always makes me laugh. One day last year I was watching through binoculars as he strove to maintain his position, 'till he could hold it no more and slid gracefully into the sea. Didn't have that much patience today and this is the best my camera can do at that distance. It's always nice to see him back, a hallmark of summer.

It's only in writing this that it occurs to me that maybe there's more than one seal and they take turns? I'll never know. That rock is a favourite spot 'though with the heron, cormorants, gulls and ducks - but the seal has pride of place, when he shows up the others take off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.