Coinneach Photography

By coinneach

Achnahaird rocks

I was up in the north west this weekend with my mate, Joe.
Saturday's weather was great, once some of the cloud burned off.
Sunday was the same, unfortunately we had to leave just as the sun broke through, but with a five hour drive ahead of us we didn't have much choice.

I had eventually gotten round to buying a variable neutral density filter. I've been hankering after one for years and eventually could afford it :-)
For those that don't know, this is a filter that reduces the amount of light getting into the lens which means a slower shutter speed can be used.
the one I bought varies from around two stops up to a massive eight stops. This means Instead of a shutter speed of around 1/50th of a second I can use a five second exposure and let the waves blur.

I bought the filter with this type of shot in mind. Unfortunately the lack of light meant it looks best in black and white. I really want to get a nice sunset pic with the milky waves washing the shoreline :-) maybe next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.