a town called E.

By Eej

Surprise


We came home yesterday afternoon, me being bitten to sheer hysteria by colonies of 'skeeters in places I won't mention here. I'm now sporting several golfballs worth of bumps, and a small baseball. The insanity.

Today it was back to work.
Before I went out the door there was an e-mail from my boss telling everyone that the new colleague (the one I was having so much difficulty with) is now no longer a colleague.
Is it crazy I felt a pang of guilt? It's not like I personally got her fired, but I know my careful comments were taken very seriously ... because I never complain.
It got worse when I arrived at work and found a birthday present at my desk. From her. With a card. Saying something about 'a special person'.

But then I opened the present and it was an utterly inappropriate gift. So inappropriate that I would have reacted VERY unkindly if she'd handed it over personally. There could even have been *gasp* scowling involved.

But here's a Milkweed Longhorn Beetle (Tetraopes tetraophthalmus) on (surprisingly enough) a Common Milkweed (Asclepias syriaca) from today's Fish Hatchery trip. I had no idea what it was, but thank you, internet. They are also quite shy, so yay for me. Though it is desperately trying to get away.

I've stopped counting all my 'bug-on-flower' shots. I found one on my camera that I didn't even see when I took it. Photo bombers, the lot of 'm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.