Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

Scorpion - Hey check that toenail!

Found this arachnid on our bathroom floor at about 11:30 pm last night. Since I had already blipped for yesterday, I sat down and read the Economist for half an hour until midnight.

I wasn't worried that he would move because he appeared dead from pest control materials on the window sill.

This shot was at 12:10 am. When I went back to start shooting, I found that he had moved about three feet! Later, when picking him up with tweezers, to store him in my specimen jar, he started wiggling violently!

This little fellow is a bark scorpion which is common around here. I'm told that his sting is very painful for a day or so, but not lethal. Ice is the recommended first aid. We find only one or two a year inside our house and they are dead or dying like this one.

"scorpion |?skôrp??n|
noun
a terrestrial arachnid with lobsterlike pincers and a poisonous sting at the end of its jointed tail, which it can hold curved over the back. Most kinds live in tropical and subtropical areas."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.