Polly's Pics

By PollysPics

Rhubarb pickers

My friend BB and I went on a farm walk today around Riverford Farm in Staverton, near Totnes. The image is a bit bright, but it was taken in the scorching midday sun.

After the walk it was lunch in Riverford's Field Kitchen and it was wonderful. They serve a set menu of 2 courses (3 for dinner) to tables of 8, so whether you know each other or not it doesn't matter. Huge plates of food are plonked onto the tables, one of meat and the rest made up fresh vegetables picked the same morning. I'm a vegetarian foodie and so often I'm disappointed when I eat out but this was my kind of food, I was physically excited. For the main we had.....roasted tomatoes with griddled asparagus, salad leaves and shavings of parmesan; new potatoes served in a bag with garlic and rosemary; roasted carrots and kohl rabi with chillies and almonds; braised artichokes, fennel and broad beans; creamed cabbage; oh and some kind of chicken thing whereas I had an aubergine fritter served with a tomato sauce.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.