Bellbird

Anthornis melanura

My garden is part of this female's territory, but I rarely see her. To get even this poor shot is very exciting for me. I knew that she likes apple, but I didn't expect her to come out in the open. Unlike the waxeyes she sings for her supper. Bellbirds have the most beautiful song, like the pealing of bells. The female's song is in short bursts and is less strong than the male's, but her voice is pure. She comes to my garden for nectar and berries, and though I don't see her I do hear her song.

Bellbirds are usually more sleek than this, but she is puffed up against the bitter wind and fine misty rain. The speckles on her back and tail are tiny raindrops. She is about 19cm long, seven cms longer than a waxeye. The males are a little longer, and they are mostly drab green, with a paler breast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.